How I Use Obsidian to Track Topics for my One-On-One Meetings

Ben Newton
5 min readJul 25, 2021
Obsidian Website

I’ve been using Obsidian for a little while now as my daily note-taking app. Over the years, I have used everything from a paper notebook to Evernote to Apple Notes. Obsidian is the first solution that has allowed me to approach my notes as I do anything else on my computer, as a developer.

Obsidian is a new-ish app for note-taking and your notes are simply saved as markdown files. So unlike, Evernote and Apple Notes, it’s just text, not rich text or some arbitrary file format. And the notes are yours. They live on your local drive. No need for a service, though you can sync your notes through their site for a small fee which makes the notes available to you anywhere via a mobile app or another computer.

But that’s just the beginning. The beauty of this app is its simplicity and versatility. If you're a developer, It’s like VSCode for notes. There are plugins (like extensions), themes, and some options for customization.

I use this for all my note-taking, but that centers around my daily notes. Every day, I start a new note that has a pre-filled template with Dates, Sections, and dynamic lists of to-dos, but we are here to discuss how I use them to prepare for one on one meetings.

--

--