How I Import My Meetings Into My Obsidian Daily Note

How I automate importing my Obsidian daily note’s meeting schedule from my Outlook calendar events.

Ben Newton
6 min readOct 8, 2021
The final output of calendar import in my daily note template

One of the things I did not like about my original Obsidian Daily Note Template was manually adding all my meetings each day. There are days where I would add the first meeting, then never add another. Then, when I get to the end of my day, I would end up back in Outlook, trying to figure out what I spent my time on. Let’s face it, if you’re not all in on this note-taking, it’s simply a waste of time, and it’s limitations like this that will keep you from using Obsidian daily notes over time.

So, I decided to figure out a way to automate importing my calendar events. I have a corporate Microsoft Exchange account, so I initially thought permissions would block me. My first thought was an API and some sort and a fetch call. I found Microsoft Graph but quickly realized that would be too much work for authentication etc., plus it would require building a plugin and middleware and more. Too much work for too…

--

--