Automating My Obsidian Daily Note

How I use iOS Shortcuts to automatically create and populate my daily note.

Ben Newton
6 min readMar 21, 2022
Obsidian App and iOS Shortcuts App Icons

Up until now, I have been manually creating my daily note in Obsidian every morning. I start many days in the early AM with offshore meetings. So I don’t always get to sit down and plan my day before I get started. Often, I am neck-deep in a conversation when I first need to add something to my daily note only to find I haven’t even created today’s note yet. If you look at my daily note template, you’ll see one of the main components is a checklist I use to get the day started. Recently, because of this shift at the start of my day, I am not getting it done. So in order to solve this issue, I decided to dive into macOS Shortcuts this weekend and see what I could do to automate the creation so they are ready when I start my day.

Setting Up the Shortcut

Since Shortcuts are now available on the Mac with the introduction of macOS Monterey, I decided to see what I could come up with. Although it doesn’t seem ready for prime time, I was…

--

--